Skip to main content

Business Standards

What is the Federal Integrated Business Framework (FIBF)?

The FIBF is a model that enables the Federal government to better coordinate and document common business needs across agencies, focusing on outcomes, data, and cross-functional end-to-end business processes. It is the essential first step towards standards that will drive economies of scale and leverage the government’s buying power. The FIBF includes five components:

  1. Federal Business Lifecycles, functional areas, functions, and activities serve as the basis for a common understanding of what services agencies need and solutions that should be offered.
  2. Business Capabilities are the outcome-based business needs mapped to Federal government authoritative references, forms, inputs, outputs, and data standards.
  3. Business Use Cases are a set of agency “stories” that document the key activities, inputs, outputs, and other line of business intersections to describe how the Federal government operates.
  4. Standard Data Elements identify the minimum data fields required to support the inputs and outputs noted in the use cases and capabilities.
  5. Performance Metrics define how the government measures successful delivery of outcomes based on timeliness, efficiency, and accuracy targets.

The cross-functional end-to-end business processes the FIBF currently covers include:

  • Budget Formulation-to-Execution
  • Acquire-to-Dispose
  • Request-to-Procure
  • Procure-to-Pay
  • Bill-to-Collect
  • Record-to-Report
  • Agree-to-Reimburse
  • Apply-to-Perform
  • Post-to-Onboard (Talent Acquisition)
  • Needs-to-Outcomes (Talent Development)
  • Plan-to-Appraise (Employee Performance Management)
  • Plan-to-Compensate (Payroll & T&A)
  • Plan-to-Compensate (Compensation and Benefits)
  • Counseling-to-Retirement (Separation and Retirement)
  • Book-to-Reimburse
  • Apply-to-Repay

Business Standards Progress Dashboard

Functional Area Designated
Standards Lead
FIBF Component
Federal Business Lifecycle Business Capabilities Business Use Cases Standard Data Elements Performance Metrics
Core Financial Management Treasury
Grants Management HHS
Travel GSA
Contract Writing DHS
Electronic Records Management NARA
Real Property Management GSA
Cybersecurity Services (SOC & VDP) DHS
HR Management Services OPM
Regulation Management GSA
  =   Baseline
Standards Lead Cross-Agency
Working Group
Business Standards
Council (BSC)
Shared Services
Governance Board
OMB Standards Complete

Back to top

How is the FIBF being built?

The FIBF is being developed and defined by cross-agency working groups led by the respective Standards Lead.

Functional AreaStandards Lead
Core Financial ManagementTreasury, Office of Financial Innovation and Transformation
Contract Writing SystemsDepartment of Homeland Security
TravelGeneral Services Administration
HR Management ServicesOffice of Personnel Management
Cybersecurity ServicesDepartment of Homeland Security
Grants ManagementDepartment of Health and Human Services
Electronic Records ManagementNational Archives and Records Administration

As a part of the development process, the FIBF is also being examined from a cross-functional perspective by the Business Standards Council. This is a key component of achieving a cross-functional, interoperable set of government-wide standards for mission support services.

How are the Business Standards Used?

1. Translates Policy into Practice
The business standards enable the Federal Government to better coordinate and document common business needs based on authoritative policy across agencies, focusing on outcomes, capabilities, and data.

2. Procurement
Agencies can use the business standards to buy mission support services. The business standards are a starting point for agencies’ requirements and allow industry to offer innovative solutions based on the business standards.

3. Agency Investment Review
The business standards ensure agencies will be able to easily transition to a future solution offered in the QSMO marketplace. When agencies plan to use solutions from outside of the QSMO marketplace, the Investment Action Planning process leverages the business standards as a means to evaluate agency options.

4. Assess Readiness for Shared Services
They support strategic planning to improve mission support services by giving decision makers the data needed to identify future opportunity areas for shared services. This includes identifying opportunities for modernization based on common themes, and policy reform based on agency feedback.

5. Agreement Across Mission Support Functions
The business standards help obtain government-wide consensus on what business processes belong in each mission support functions to establish a shared understanding of the scope of services and coordination needed across shared services.

Back to top