Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Information Technology Services

Click wheel to review standards

Federal Integrated Business Framework (FIBF)

The FIBF is a model that enables the Federal government to better coordinate and document common business needs across agencies and focus on outcomes, data, processes and performance. It is the essential first step towards standards that will drive economies of scale and leverage the government’s buying power.

DRAFT IT Cost Transparency Taxonomy - date posted 09/29/2023

xls DRAFT IT Cost Transparency Taxonomy

NOTE: Version 1.2 reflects changes to the FY25 A-11 Standard Investment Reporting guidance.

Having comprehensive IT Cost Transparency Standards to enable cohesive integration across the Federal IT initiatives is an integral part of any Federal IT ecosystem. Disparate attempts over the years to define IT Cost Transparency Standards have led to overlap, duplication of effort, and a lack of clarity on how to represent IT services and manage spend. The IT Cost Transparency Taxonomy establishes a common standard that translates IT policy into practice and facilitates the effective and efficient delivery of IT services. These standards help to:

  1. Provide a comprehensive approach for managing IT spend
  2. Enable more visibility and traceability
  3. Improve data quality
  4. Create cohesive integration and identify cross-functional touchpoints between mission support functions and the IT Cost Transparency taxonomy/lifecycle
  5. Identify mission support functions suitable for sharing across agencies

These IT Cost Transparency standards have been developed by a cross-functional team, based on industry best practices and incorporating agency feedback. They will serve as a substantial input to IT lifecycle standards and agency modernization efforts.

The Quality Service Management Offices use the draft ITS functions, activities, business capabilities, data elements and services measures to establish, offer, and manage their governmentwide marketplaces of solutions and services.

Federal Business Lifecycle - Information Technology Services

Federal Business Lifecycles, functional areas, functions, and activities serve as the basis for a common understanding of what services agencies need and solutions should offer.

Functions: Breakdown of a functional area into categories of services provided to customers.

Activities: Within a function, processes that provide identifiable outputs/outcomes to customers are defined as activities.

Back to top

Business Capabilities - Information Technology Services

Business Capabilities are the outcome-based business needs mapped to Federal government authoritative references, forms, and data standards.

Back to top

Business Use Cases - Information Technology Services

A set of agency “stories” that document the key activities, inputs, outputs, and other LOB intersections to describe how the Federal government operates.

Back to top

Standard Data Elements - Information Technology Services

Identify the minimum data fields required to support the inputs and outputs noted in the use cases and capabilities.

Back to top

Service Measures - Information Technology Services

Define how the government measures successful delivery of outcomes based on timeliness, efficiency, and accuracy targets.

Back to top

An official website of the General Services Administration

Looking for U.S. government information and services?
Nothing here